A New Year, a New Blog Format

Hello, everyone.  And for those few, those happy few, who stuck with me through my blog’s dark spell, thank you for your patience.  This post is meant to give you a heads-up on what will be happening around here over the next few months.

The biggest change:  no daily flash fiction.

For those of you who seem to like it, I do apologize.  I really, really wish I could keep it up.  Fact is, though, that I just can’t write a whole new piece of fiction every day (which takes me about an hour and a half) and do everything else I have to do.  It’s gotten to the point where it’s not only cutting into my other fiction writing, but into my real-world responsibilities.  The old pieces will remain, and I may occasionally add a new one from time to time, but that’s it.

Second, there will be fewer blog posts around here, but (I hope) better ones.  I feel almost as though I’m spamming you on a semi-regular basis, and that has to change.  Originally, I had planned to post two or three times a day on this blog.  I think that will now go to two or three times a week.  On Mondays, I’ll review a current film or television series.  On Fridays, I’ll review a Kindle book.  Wednesdays will see me posting links I found interesting or informative…if I found anything I liked.  I may, from time to time, post something else as the mood strikes.

Third, the time I save from not grooming this blog on a daily basis will be put into more personal interactions.  I keep meaning to get out there, and share what I’ve written with other people.  I keep meaning to read what they’ve written, and offer my thoughts.  In short, I think I’ve let this blog become an end in itself, rather than as the means to building a community of friends which it was intended to be.  That will change.

I solemnly swear that this will be the last one of these posts for some time.

Published in: on January 8, 2012 at 12:02 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dwaynerussell.wordpress.com/2012/01/08/a-new-year-a-new-blog-format/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

