It’s Story Day here at my blog…

Via Grasping for the Wind, a story called “The Old Equations” which is one of the finalists for the Sturgeon Award.  I started reading it just because the title reminded me so much of “The Cold Equations,” and I now have the feeling that was deliberate.  Check out the story (language alert), and some of the other nominees.  I’ll be writing up a review of a story collection from one of the other nominees on Friday.

A fun interview with Brad R. Torgersen.

I can’t believe I’ve overlooked this for almost a month, but it happens sometimes.  Here’s a solid reason to write a novella.  I have a feeling that novellas are going to gain in popularity as the Kindle market continues to expand.

Another take on The Avengers, which commits apostasy by declaring it to be only sort of awesome.

Finally, an interesting if (I think) somewhat optimistic essay on the forthcoming Snow White movie.  I suppose I will go to see it myself, though I don’t have high hopes.  Most of the cast looks fine, but Kristen Stewart…perhaps not.  And I have to ask whether the universe really needed a darker version of Snow White featuring the title character in armor.

Published in: on May 22, 2012 at 6:22 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dwaynerussell.wordpress.com/2012/05/22/its-story-day-here-at-my-blog/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

