Links for June 18, 2012

Come, let me tell you a secret.  I have never read any of the Ringworld novels.  Don’t look at me that way.  I meant to.  Honest I did.  But there was the thing, and then there was that other thing, and then stuff kind of happened…

Anyway, this great piece on Larry Niven may guilt me into finally picking up his most famous works.

A thought-provoking essay on mythology in urban fantasy.  It doubles as a great reading list, for those interested in exploring the genre more.

Is humanity doomed if our galaxy is crowded?

We might be if our extraterrestrial friends have this attitude toward Star Trek.  The following is not meant to be disrespectful toward S.C. Butler, or to defend the franchise as a whole.  Fan though I am, my honesty compels me to admit the large number of episodes and films which are mediocre to bad.  But if you’re going to entitle an essay “Did Star Trek Wreck SF?” then I don’t think it’s an unreasonable demand that at some point you try to answer the question.

To close, here’s a book I will be picking up:  a Ray Bradbury tribute collection of never-before-published short stories.

Published in: on June 18, 2012 at 7:07 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dwaynerussell.wordpress.com/2012/06/18/links-for-june-18-2012/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

